Robin Roberts, Angela Yee & Hoda Kotb Among Winners For Gracie Awards

Robin Roberts, Angela Yee & Hoda Kotb Among Winners For Gracie Awards

Some of the most popular and influential women in media have been awarded with a prestigious honor. Angela Yee, Robin Roberts and Hoda Kotb are just a few of the honorees for the 2019 Gracie Awards.

Presented by the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF,) the honorees for the 44th annual Gracie Awards have been announced—and there are some very familiar names that have taken top honors, including radio personality Angela Yee and TV personalities Robin Roberts and Hoda Kotb. The Gracie Awards recognize annual exemplary programming created by, for and about women in radio, television, cable and interactive media. Honorees are selected in national, local and student markets, including both commercial and non-commercial outlets.

Angela Yee

This year’s ceremony is scheduled to take place on May 21st at the Four Seasons Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles. Local and student award winners will be recognized at the Gracie Awards Luncheon in a separate ceremony held on June 26th at New York City’s Cipriani restaurant.

Yee won for Best National Radio Host for The Breakfast Club, Roberts won Best Online Producer for her show Robin Roberts Presents Thriver Thursday and Kotb won for Best On-Air Talent (News/News Magazine) for the TODAY show.

Hoda Kotb

Other notable winners include, Sandra Oh for her role on the hit series Killing Eve, BET for their breast cancer special BET Her Fights: Breast Cancer, the Toni Braxton-starring Lifetime film Faith Under Fire: The Antoinette Tuff Story and the NPR documentary Coretta Scott King’s March in Memphis.

Speaking about the awards, AWMF executive director Becky Brooks had this to say:

“Our leadership is proud to honor the best of the best who embody the spirit and intention of the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation’s Gracie Awards.”

You can read the full list of winners for the 2019 Gracie Awards here.

What do you think of this year’s winners? Let us know in the comments!

Authored by: Danielle Jennings