Prince’s ‘Welcome 2 America’ Unreleased Album Will Be Released On July 30th


Prince’s ‘Welcome 2 America’ Unreleased Album Will Be Released On July 30th

Fans of the late artist Prince can expect new (unheard) music soon! According to reports, the estate of musical icon Prince will be releasing a never-heard-before completed album from Prince’s vault of leftover music. This summer on July 30th a 12-track album entitled ‘Welcome 2 America’ will be available for the public. According to reports, Prince recorded this unheard project at his Paisley Park Studios in 2010. The title track was recently shared by Prince’s estate and it’s available now on streaming platforms. (Pre-order the entire album here)

The estate of Prince released a statement about the upcoming album and said that it will be a document of

“Prince’s concerns, hopes and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice.”

According to the statement, the album will touch on

“golden parachutes, the superficial nature of social media, reality TV-fueled celebrity culture, and corporate monopolies in the music industry, ultimately concluding that America is the ‘Land of the free/home of the slave.’”

‘Welcome 2 America’ tracklist will include:

  1. Welcome 2 America
  2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
  3. Born 2 Die
  4. 1000 Light Years From Here
  5. Hot Summer
  6. Stand Up and B Strong (Soul Asylum cover)
  7. Check The Record
  8. Same Page, Different Book
  9. When She Comes
  10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  11. Yes
  12. One Day We Will All B Free

What are your thoughts on this upcoming album? Let us know in the comments below.

Authored by: Twila-Amoure McDaniel