D’Angelo Surprises Fans, Releases New Album ‘Black Messiah’ + Stream the Album!


Expected the unexpected. At least that’s what Beyonce taught us. When it comes to music, artists are becoming more and more creative with how they release their art. At midnight (December 15th) D’Angelo (real name Michael Eugene Archer) released his album, Black Messiah, on iTunes. The album, which includes his band The Vanguard, features 12 tracks, with no special guests. Check out the reported track list:

1. Ain’t That Easy
2. 1000 Deaths
3. The Charade
4. Sugah Daddy
5. Really Love
6. Back in the Future (Part I)
7. Till It’s Done (Tutu)
8. Prayer
9. Betray My Heart
10. The Door
11. Back in the Future (Part II)
12. Another Life

Reportedly, Questlove, Q-Tip and Kendra Foster contributed to the project.

Earlier in the day, Questlove warned fans that the project was enroute, literally. He wrote on Instagram:

#BlackMessiah the 14 year follow up to #Voodoo will be on sale tonight at MIDNIGHT ON ITUNES! #Dangelo #FreeAtLast #ItsHere!!!

As Quest noted, fans haven’t heard an album from the 40-year-old artist since Voodoo. Stream the album on the next page.