Ciara, Tinashe, Jason Derulo to Perform Janet Jackson Tribute At BET Awards

Ciara-Jason Derulo-Tinashe-Janet Jackson Tribute-the jasmine brand

We told ya so! We recently reported rumors that Janet Jackson would be attending this year’s BET Awards and it appears that we were correct. On Tuesday (June 23rd), the network announced that the legendary singer is receiving the inaugural ULTIMATE ICON: Music Dance Visual award at the 15th annual “BET Awards” 2015.

Janet Jackson

Janet Jackson

Ciara, Jason Derulo and Tinashe are slated to perform a special dance tribute to the iconic entertainer, which is set to include her just released single, “No Sleeep.” The three artists confirmed the news on social media.

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 11.14.08 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 11.13.44 PM

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 11.14.27 PM

As you know, Janet sent her fans into social media frenzy when she recently announced her upcoming first studio album in seven years and the first leg of her highly anticipated UNBREAKABLE WORLD TOUR, a 37-date tour starting August 31st in Vancouver, BC.

“No Sleeep,” the first single from the yet untitled album, debuted on Ms. Jackson’s Twitter and website on Monday (June 22nd) and immediately reached the top spot on Billboard Trending 140. Currently, “No Sleeep” is trending at #1 and is one of the most highly requested singles on the radio.


Stephen G. Hill, BET’s President of Programming stated: 

This is Janet Jackson, people! We are excited beyond belief to present her with our inaugural ULTIMATE ICON: Music Dance Visual award and we are thrilled that she chose the BET Awards as the first step on her new road. An inspiration to many other artists, “Ms. Jackson” (‘cause I’m nasty) blends music, dance and visuals in unique and groundbreaking ways and we look forward to celebrating her storied history…as well as giving The BET Awards audience a peek into her Unbreakable future.

Tracee Ellis, Anthony Anderson

Tracee Ellis, Anthony Anderson

Hosted by Anthony Anderson and Tracee Ellis Ross, the “BET Awards” will also include previously announced performances by Chris Brown, Kendrick Lamar, Nicki Minaj and Meek Mill. Michael Ealy, Sanaa Lathan, Laverne Cox, Michael B. Jordan and Zendaya, who were also previously announced as presenters for the 15th Anniversary of the year’s biggest night in music. In addition, Smokey Robinson has been announced to perform and receive the Lifetime Achievement Award and Tom Joyner the Humanitarian Award at this year’s ceremony. Additional names to be announced.

Follow me: @theJasmineBRAND on Twitter | theJasmineBRAND on Facebook | theJasmineBRAND on Instagram