Leslie Odom, Jr. Set To Release New Studio Album “When A Crooner Dies”

Leslie Odom, Jr. Set To Release New Studio Album “When A Crooner Dies”

Tony and Grammy Award-winning, three-time Emmy and two-time Academy Award-nominated singer, songwriter, actor, and entertainer, Leslie Odom, Jr. is set to release a brand-new studio album, When A Crooner Dies, on November 17, 2023 via BMG – available for pre-order.

When A Crooner Dies is Leslie’s fifth full-length album and his first of all-new original music since 2019. The new music was written and recorded over the course of the last few years and features a collection of 10 newly penned, original tracks that mark Leslie’s most personal body of music to date, showcasing his unparalleled musical talent and instantly recognizable, effortlessly smooth vocals.

Coinciding with the album announcement, Leslie, today, unveils the first new song “Show Me” – listen here – and its accompanying visualizer –  watch here. giving fans the first taste of what they can expect from the highly anticipated, forthcoming album. Autographed versions of the album are available for pre-order here.

Of the new song, Leslie shares,

“Whoooo boy. I can feel the season of turmoil (and growth) that gave rise to the sentiment of the song in the first lines of music. Do I have the capacity to love someone for real? Do I have the capacity for that kind of unselfishness? Can I be that generous? That open? Or am I somehow…unfit…for all that true love asks of us? I prayed to God for proof of life…proof of my own humanity. I wanted heaven to show me.”

Last week, Leslie made his long-awaited return to Broadway starring in, and co-producing, the first Broadway revival of the classic American comedy Purlie Victorious: A Non-Confederate Romp Through the Cotton Patch by the legendary Ossie Davis. The production opened on Wednesday, September 27 to widespread praise and unanimous acclaim with Variety proclaiming, “Odom electrifies as Purlie,” The New York Times hailing he “instantly stands out” and “it’s Odom who carries the play’s weight as it shifts from genre to genre and reveals further layers of character,” and New York Magazine stating, “unsurprisingly, Odom’s got charisma for days.” Tickets for Purlie Victorious are available at Telecharge.com or 212-239-6200. For more info, visit www.purlievictorious.com.

When A Crooner Dies Tracklisting

1. Loved
2. Show Me
3. Holding on to Us
4. Take Me As I Am
5. Only Heaven
6. The Morning
7. I Surrender
8. Won’t Hold Back
9. GO
10. Everything


Authored by: Gregory Molette