Remaining New Edition Members Explain New Group “RBRM”

Remaining New Edition Members Explain New Group “RBRM”

Is the original boy band New Edition going back on tour? Yes and no! Recently, four of the six members announced that they would be going on tour as RBRM. Ronnie DeVoe, Bobby Brown, Ricky Bell, and Michael Bivins will be going on tour under this new name without original members, Ralph Tresvant or Johnny Gill.

The members of RBRM stopped by Atlanta’s V-103 radio station to discuss how they reunited and formed a group without the other two members.

New Edition

The iconic boy band or should we call the man band, gave us hits like “Candy Girl,” “Cool It Now,” and “Can You Stand The Rain?” during their 35 year career. Let’s not forget a BET special that kept us glued to our seats and craving a reunion. Read the excerpts below.

On how they became RBRM:

The name was easy because we its been on record and everybody’s familiar with it. ‘Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky and Mike, if I like the girl who cares who you like.’ We figured, the conversation happened like this ‘yo Bob [Bobby] what are you doing this year? I am going out and doing some shows. What y’all doing? We going out and we performing too.’ Man let’s just go out together. Make it one show.

On reuniting: 

Bobby: I think we’re thankful you know to the fans that have followed us all this time that keep us coming back together that keep us wanting to come back together. Its fun performing together. Its fun when they’re doing their solo thing and I am doing mine but when we are on stage together that’s a lot more fun.

On the possibility of more New Edition movies: 

Like with any story the saga is still being written.

While we wait on a reunion with all six members, fans seem to be ready for the RBRM tour.

By: Rukayat A. Oloko

Authored by: TJB Writer