Regina King, Thandie Newton & RuPaul Take Home Emmys, ‘The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel’ Wins Big

Regina King, Thandie Newton & RuPaul Take Home Emmy Wins, ‘The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel’ Wins Big

Despite a diverse selection of nominees at the 2018 Primetime Emmys, the winners didn’t reflect that. Fan favorites such as Atlanta, Black-Ish, Insecure and others racked up a ton of nominations but did not manage to bring anything home. For the most part, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” nearly swept every category, taking home five of their six Emmys for the evening, including Best Comedy Series and Best Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series.

Viewers got a break from Maisel’s many wins when Regina King took home the award for Best Lead Actress In A Limited Series for her role in Netflix’s “Seven Seconds.”

She was presented the award by RuPaul and Leslie Jones who were just as excited and surprised as she was.

“Thank you for creating an opportunity to tell a story and hold a mirror on what is going on today,” King said in her acceptance speech. She ended her speech by throwing in “No Cap,” which she wasn’t quite sure she used correctly.


Thandie Newton followed suit when she took home the award for Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series with Westworld as well as RuPaul’s Drag Race for Best Reality Competition.

Another great highlight centered around Glenn Weiss, who won Best Directing for a Variety Series for The Oscars. As he took the stage to accept the award, he revealed that he had just lost his mother 2 weeks prior to the ceremony. As if the audience was not emotional enough, he took the moment to address his partner, Jan Svendsen, whom he refused to refer to as his girlfriend — because he wanted her to be his wife.

Jan, you are the sunshine in my life. And mom was right, don’t ever let go of your sunshine. You wonder why I don’t like to call you my girlfriend? Because I want to call you my wife.”

Weiss then proposed to Svendsen on live television for millions to see.

Did you check out the Emmys? If not, you can take a look at all of the winners here.

Authored by: Eleven8